Chris Hammons | October 11, 2023 | Car Accidents
Maybe you were running late and fully aware that you were speeding. Or maybe you got a little too enthusiastic about the song you were jamming to and didn’t realize you were barreling down the interstate like a Nascar driver. Suddenly, you catch a glimpse of flashing blue and red lights in your rearview mirror, and your stomach starts doing cartwheels. You’ve been pulled over for speeding, which happens to almost all of us sooner or later. On the flipside, you could be reading this post because you’ve been the victim of a reckless driver. Here’s what you need to know about speeding and reckless driving laws in Oklahoma.
What Are the Two Types of Speeding Laws in Oklahoma?
Basic Speeding Law
Oklahoma’s Basic Speeding Law is general and self-explanatory. It states that:
“Any person driving a vehicle on a highway shall drive the same at a careful and prudent speed not greater than nor less than is reasonable and proper, having due regard to the traffic, surface and width of the highway and any other conditions then existing.”
You should take special circumstances into account when making decisions about speed, such as inclement weather conditions or road hazards. For example, driving 75 miles per hour on the interstate on a sunny day may be perfectly safe and acceptable, but if it’s dark and that same road is shrouded in black ice, driving 75 mph becomes utterly reckless.
The term “Absolute Limit” is self-explanatory. It means the speed limit posted is the absolute speed limit. In Oklahoma, a few examples of these speed limits are:
- 25 mph in school zones
- 35 mph in state parks/wildlife refuges
- 55 mph on country roads
What are the Penalties for Speeding?
Penalties for speeding in Oklahoma range from paying a fine to license suspension, depending on the frequency and severity of violations. These fines apply only if you pay your ticket on time. Review penalties for other types of traffic violations.
- Speeding up to 10 mph over speed limit: $172
- Speeding 11-19 mph over speed limit: $203
- Speeding 20 mph over speed limit: $213
- Speeding in a residential area: $213
- Speeding in a school zone: $213
How is Reckless Driving Determined in Oklahoma?
The state of Oklahoma classifies reckless driving as “any person driving a motor vehicle in a careless or wanton manner without regard for the safety of persons or property.”
Reckless Driving Penalties include:
- imprisonment for 5 – 90 days or a fine of $100 – $500 (or both a fine and imprisonment) for a first offense
- imprisonment for 10 days – 6 months or a fine of $150 – $1,000 (or both a fine and imprisonment) for a second or subsequent offense
What is the Point System and How Does it Work?
In Oklahoma, when you are convicted of certain traffic violations, points are added to your driving record. If your total reaches 10+ points within a 5-year period, your license is suspended. To get it reinstated, you must serve the period and pay the statutory fee. Learn more about the Oklahoma point system.
About Laird Hammons Laird
If you’ve experienced a recent accident with a reckless driver, our experienced car accident attorneys can help you deal with insurance companies, sort out your medical bills, and win the compensation you deserve. Contact us today to get on the road to recovery.
Contact Our OKC Car Accident Attorneys at Laird Hammons Laird Trial Lawyers for a Free Consultation
For more information, please contact an experienced Oklahoma City car accident lawyer at Laird Hammons Laird Personal Injury Lawyers to schedule a free initial consultation today. Our law office is located in Oklahoma City.
We proudly serve Oklahoma County, OK and its surrounding areas: