Chris Hammons | January 16, 2024 | Motorcyle Accidents
Cruising down an Oklahoma highway on two wheels can be just as fun as it is exhilarating. The wind in your face and the feeling of freedom that comes from catching the Sooner State’s scenic views is something that cannot be topped. That said, riding a motorcycle in Oklahoma can also be dangerous, especially if you aren’t following the state’s road safety laws.
For the most part, motorcyclists have to follow the same regulations as those operating enclosed motor vehicles, but helmet laws are something unique to motorcyclists. Of course, that raises the question, “Do you have to wear a helmet on a motorcycle in Oklahoma?”
Here’s everything you need to know about Oklahoma’s helmet laws:
Do You Have To Wear a Helmet on a Motorcycle?
Though Oklahoma’s motorcycle laws are pretty clear-cut, it’s still important to brush up on them before you hit the road, even if you’ve been riding a motorcycle for years, to ensure you remain up to date on the latest changes.
With that said, one of the most important Oklahoma motorcycle laws covers helmet use. In the state, riders must wear a motorcycle helmet if they are under 18 years of age. If you are 18 or older, a helmet isn’t required, though it is strongly recommended to avoid being injured in a motorcycle accident.
Is It Illegal To Ride a Motorcycle Without a Helmet?
It is illegal to ride a motorcycle without a helmet if you are a minor. If you are an adult, you can ride your motorcycle without one, but again, just because you can doesn’t mean you should.
In Oklahoma, a motorcycle is defined as having an engine displacement greater than 35cc and less than 150cc. Certain mopeds and electric-powered bikes also fall into that definition if they meet certain engine power, brake horsepower, or speed requirements.
How Oklahoma’s Helmet Laws Compare To Those of Other States
Oklahoma’s helmet laws are much more lenient than most other states. Some require all riders to wear a helmet, regardless of age or experience, and others require individuals 20 years old and younger to wear helmets.
What Happens If You Aren’t Wearing a Motorcycle Helmet During a Crash?
If you are 18 or older and aren’t wearing a motorcycle helmet during a crash, you won’t face any legal repercussions regarding non-helmet use. Nevertheless, the event that transpires can still have consequences.
If you were partially or solely responsible for the crash, you could be issued a ticket. Making matters worse is that your insurance provider will be the one left paying for the costs of the crash, which can drive up your rates and make it harder to get coverage in the future.
That said, monetary repercussions are far from the worst part of getting in a crash without a helmet. Any collision on a motorcycle can be dangerous, especially if you aren’t using proper safety gear.
You could face serious injuries, such as a concussion or even a traumatic brain injury, and you’ll also have to contend with the other party’s insurance company to get the support you need to recover.
Even if you weren’t at fault, the fact that you weren’t wearing a helmet could still be used against you in court. As such, it’s important to have a skilled legal representative in your corner; they’ll help you explore your options and seek a fair outcome.
Why You Should Wear a Helmet, Even If You Don’t Have To
Don’t risk your health and safety just to feel a little more wind on your face. Even if you don’t have to wear a helmet under Oklahoma law, doing so is a great idea, as it will provide valuable protection while you enjoy a smooth and liberating ride through the state.
Contact Our Motorcycle Accident Lawyers at Laird Hammons Laird Personal Injury Lawyers for a Free Consultation
For more information, please contact an experienced Oklahoma City motorcycle accident lawyer at Laird Hammons Laird Personal Injury Lawyers to schedule a free initial consultation today. Our law office is located in Oklahoma City.
We proudly serve Oklahoma County, OK and its surrounding areas: