Oklahoma City Motorcycle Licensing Requirements

Motorcyclists in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, must obtain a license to ride legally. This license is intended to ensure operators have the experience and knowledge to avoid endangering themselves, their passengers, and other road users.

Your compliance with Oklahoma City motorcycle licensing requirements may be called into question after a motorcycle accident. Without the training necessary to operate safely, you might get blamed for contributing to the crash cause. 

Laird Hammons Laird Personal Injury Lawyers will help you fight these arguments as you pursue fair injury compensation. Contact us today for a free case review at (405) 497-0480.

How Laird Hammons Laird Can Help You Get Compensation After a Motorcycle Accident in Oklahoma City, OK

How Laird Hammons Laird Can Help You Get Compensation After a Motorcycle Accident in Oklahoma City, OK

Laird Hammons Laird was founded in 2009 to help injured victims in Oklahoma City, OK, battle those responsible for harming them. Our attorneys have over 95 years of combined legal experience and have recovered over $100 million in injury compensation.

When someone else’s actions cause injury or death, our law firm provides the following services:

  • Analyzing the case and identifying all possible legal claims
  • Gathering evidence and records
  • Negotiating with the at-fault party’s insurer to settle your case
  • Filing lawsuits against the at-fault party if settlement talks fail

Our Oklahoma City motorcycle accident lawyers fight for compensation to pay your medical bills and living expenses. Contact Laird Hammons Laird Personal Injury Lawyers for a free consultation to learn about your legal options under Oklahoma law.

Why Does Oklahoma Require Motorcycle Licenses?

Every U.S. state requires motorcycle operators to obtain a license. However, the goal of licensing is not to force riders to fill out additional paperwork. In almost all states, motorcycle license applicants must pass a safety course, a road test, or both. 

The additional education and practice required to meet the state’s requirements give the rider the skills to ride safely.

States have these requirements because inexperience is a leading cause of motorcycle crashes. Only about 20% of operators lack a license, but they account for 40% of motorcycle fatalities. In other words, they are twice as likely to have a fatal crash as trained and licensed riders.

You can apply this statistic to Oklahoma’s motorcycle crashes. The 2021 edition of Oklahoma’s Highway Safety Crash Facts Book reported 76 fatal motorcycle crashes. Assuming 40% of these riders operated without a license, roughly 30 unlicensed riders died that year.

Oklahoma Motorcycle License Requirements

Oklahoma gives applicants three options for obtaining a motorcycle license. Each of the following options has different requirements based on the applicant’s license status, age, and training:

Transfer an Out-of-State License

If you have an out-of-state motorcycle license that is either unexpired or expired within the past six months, you can exchange your license for an Oklahoma license when you move to the state. In other words, Oklahoma will accept that you have met the state’s licensing requirements since you already met them in another state.

Specifically, the state does not require you to prove that you passed a motorcycle safety course or passed a riding test. Instead, it assumes you did one or the other since you have a valid license. Instead, you must only prove Oklahoma residency and pass a vision test.

Pass a Motorcycle Safety Course

You must apply for a new license if you do not have an unexpired or recently expired motorcycle license from another state. One option is to take an approved motorcycle safety course. This class, based on the Motorcycle Safety Foundation’s Basic RiderCourse, takes place over two or three days, depending on the provider.

The class includes lectures and hands-on skills training to learn about common road dangers and how to avoid them. You must pass a written examination and a road test. 

If you pass both exams, the provider gives you a certificate of completion. Oklahoma’s licensing center waives its written and road tests when you include your certificate with your application.

Take the Written and Skills Tests

Riders ages 14 through 17 must take the motorcycle safety course. Riders 18 and older can choose a different option. Rather than taking the class, older riders can practice on their own time and take the licensing center’s written and skills tests.

Permits vs. Endorsements vs. Restricted Licenses

Applicants should understand one additional concept before heading to the licensing office. If you have a valid Oklahoma driver’s license, the state adds a motorcycle endorsement when you meet its requirements. If you do not have a valid license, you must pass the written driver’s license exam and will only receive a restricted motorcycle-only license.

Applicants under 18 will receive a motorcycle permit. Applicants over 18 can request a permit or skip it and apply for a full endorsement or license. Those who receive a permit must hold it for at least 30 days without receiving any tickets for violating Oklahoma’s motorcycle laws before they can convert it to a full license.

Schedule a Free Consultation With Our Experienced Oklahoma City Motorcycle Accident Lawyers

Unfortunately, you can get involved in a motorcycle crash even when you follow all the licensing and traffic laws. Contact Laird Hammons Laird Personal Injury Lawyers to discuss your motorcycle collision and how we can pursue injury compensation from the driver responsible for it.